Eelgrass Restoration

Coastkeeper is working to restore eelgrass in Upper Newport Bay!

Eelgrass beds are important habitat for crabs, scallops, numerous fish and other marine species. 

eelgrass restoration newport bay

Spend a day on the water at the Back Bay Science Center in this hands-on habitat restoration effort Wednesdays through Saturdays this June and July. We are looking for land-based volunteers to prepare eelgrass to be replanted, as well as AAUS certified SCUBA divers to collect and replant the eelgrass.

Week 1: June 15 - 18
Week 2: June 29 - July 2
Week 3: July 6 - 9
Week 4: July 20 - 23

Morning Shift: 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Afternoon Shift:12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Lunch will be provided for volunteers staying all day. No experience necessary, training will be provided. Minimum age to get involved is 10 years old.

Please sign up below!

If you are an AAUS SCUBA diver, please email restoration@coastkeeper.org

WHEN
June 15, 2016 at 9am - June 23, 2016
WHERE
Back Bay Science Center - Newport Beach
600 Shellmaker Rd
Newport Beach, CA 92660
United States
Google map and directions
CONTACT
Sara Briley · · 714-850-1965
100 RSVPS

Will you come?

Choose shifts
Wed, Jun 15: Thu, Jun 16: Fri, Jun 17: Sat, Jun 18: Wed, Jun 29: Thu, Jun 30: Fri, Jul 01: Wed, Jul 06: Thu, Jul 07: Fri, Jul 08: Sat, Jul 09: Wed, Jul 20: Thu, Jul 21: Sat, Jul 23:

Showing 111 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • rsvped 2016-07-20 13:24:36 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-20 12:55:17 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-20 01:36:47 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-18 16:14:55 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-18 16:11:55 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-18 16:09:54 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-18 16:05:10 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-18 10:00:01 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-17 13:51:21 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-17 13:27:31 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-09 13:46:36 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-07 12:32:50 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-06 15:50:01 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-06 12:08:18 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-05 22:07:27 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-05 21:32:45 -0700
  • posted about this on Facebook 2016-07-05 17:29:01 -0700
    Please RSVP: Eelgrass Restoration
  • rsvped 2016-07-05 17:27:59 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-05 17:01:21 -0700
  • canceled rsvp 2016-07-05 16:18:14 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-04 12:28:56 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-02 22:12:16 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-02 18:38:13 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-02 17:37:58 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-02 13:59:42 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-02 13:45:37 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-07-01 19:08:28 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-06-30 18:25:44 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-06-30 11:17:46 -0700
  • rsvped 2016-06-30 09:41:23 -0700